Skip Navigation
A gavel National Board for Education Sciences Members | Director's Priorities | Reports | Agendas | Minutes | Resolutions| Briefing Materials
Members of the National Board for Education Sciences

Members of the Board are appointed by the President and are highly qualified to appraise education research, statistics, evaluations, or development. On October 27, 2022, President Biden announced his intent to appoint the following individuals to serve on the National Board for Education Sciences:

S. James Anaya, University of Colorado

Maria de la Concepcion Hernandez Legorreta, Maryland

State Department of Education

Linda Darling-Hammond, Learning Point Institute

Douglas Fuchs, Vanderbilt University

Denisa Gandara, University of Texas at Austin

Elmer Guy, Navajo Technical University

Shaun Harper, University of Southern California

Dana Hilliard, Mayor, Hilltop City

Stephen Klasko, General Catalyst

Carol Lee (Chair of NBES), Northwestern University

Ruth Lopez Turley, Rice University

Derrick Scott, Virginia State University

Caroline Sullivan, North Carolina Business Commission for Education

Hirokazu Yoshikawa, New York University