Skip Navigation

Indian Education Policies in Five Northwest Region States




In this comprehensive effort to study Indian education policies, the report categorizes the policies of five Northwest Region states based on 13 key policies identified in the literature and describes the legal methods used to adopt them, such as statutes, regulations, and executive orders. The study found that six of the key policies had been adopted by all five states: adopting academic standards for teaching students about the history and culture of America's indigenous peoples, involving Native Americans on advisory boards, promoting Native American languages through teacher certification, allowing students to learn their native language as part of their education program, and providing tuition assistance for college-bound Native American students.

Publication Type:

Issues & Answers

Online Availability:
Publication Date:
October 2009