Skip Navigation

How Eight State Education Agencies in the Northeast and Islands Region Identify and Support Low–Performing Schools and Districts


Northeast & Islands


This report describes and analyzes how eight state education agencies in the Northeast and Islands Region—those of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, and Vermont–identify and support low-performing schools and districts under the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001. Focusing on direct state supports and interventions, the report finds that the eight agencies have created supports and rationales to put federally defined accountability principles into practice in response to their specific contexts, local needs, and capacities.

Publication Type:

Issues & Answers

Online Availability:
Publication Date:
March 2009