Skip Navigation
Stay Up-to-Date:

Home > About Our Region

About Our Region

Northeast coastREL Northeast & Islands serves a geographically large and demographically diverse region that is home to nearly 38 million people, or about 11.7 percent of the nation’s population. The region includes seven U.S. states—Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont—and two U.S. island territories—Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

More than 395,000 teachers serve approximately 5.2 million public school students across the region. There are 11,000 schools and 2,500 districts, including many small, rural districts and some of the largest urban districts in the country. About half of all students in the region qualify for free or reduced-price lunch.

The region’s urban centers are primarily in New York, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, and Puerto Rico, where the vast majority of students attend schools in urban and suburban districts. New Hampshire’s student population is evenly split between urban and suburban centers, and small towns and rural communities. Maine, Vermont, and the U.S. Virgin Islands are primarily rural, and more than 70 percent of students in each jurisdiction attend schools in small towns or rural areas.