Skip Navigation
Stay Up-to-Date:
Skip Navigation

Governing Board

REL Southwest's Governing Board guides our work and provides insight on regional and state priorities. Members include education practitioners, leaders, and policymakers from across our five states and represent diverse interests and areas of expertise to ensure our work serves all educators and students in our region.

Up to four members serve per state for one-year terms, with the option of two additional terms. Chief state school officers or their designees also serve on the Board while in office.

Arkansas state image


  • Cory Biggs, Founder and President, Biggs Solutions Group
  • Jackie Govan, Director, Arkansas State Collaboration Office, Arkansas Head Start Association
  • Sarah McKenzie, Executive Director, Office of Education Policy, University of Arkansas
  • Gina Windle, Chief of Staff, Arkansas Department of Education (designee for Johnny Key, Secretary of Education, Arkansas Department of Education)
Louisiana state image


  • Kelli Joseph, Superintendent of Schools, St. Helena Parish School District
  • Criketa "Cree" Matlock, State Government Affairs/Public Policy Supervisor, Charter Schools USA
  • Don Schillinger, Dean, College of Education, Louisiana Tech University
  • Quentina Timoll, Chief of Staff, Louisiana Department of Education (designee for Cade Brumley, State Superintendent of Education, Louisiana Department of Education)
New Mexico state image

New Mexico

  • Patricia Jiménez-Latham, Project Manager, Transform Education NM
  • Glenabah Martinez, Associate Professor, Language, Literacy, and Sociocultural Studies; and Director of the Institute for American Indian Education, University of New Mexico
  • Mayra Valtierrez, Director, Language and Culture Bureau, New Mexico Public Education Department (designee for Kurt Steinhaus, State Secretary of Education, New Mexico Public Education Department)
  • Christopher West, Senior Director, Strategic Analysis and Program Research, Albuquerque Public Schools
Oklahoma state image


  • Bryan Duke, Associate Dean, College of Education, University of Central Oklahoma
  • April Grace, Superintendent, Shawnee Public Schools
  • Brook Meiller, Deputy Superintendent of School Support & Improvement, Oklahoma State Department of Education (designee for Joy Hofmeister, State Superintendent of Public Instruction, Oklahoma State Department of Education)
  • David Sullivan, Director, Indian Education Program, Anadarko Public Schools
Texas state image


  • Pat Forgione, Former Superintendent and Consultant, Austin Independent School District
  • David Kauffman, Executive Director for Multilingual Education, Austin Independent School District
  • Linda Roska, Executive Director, Division of Research and Analysis, Texas Education Agency (designee for Mike Morath, Commissioner of Education, Texas Education Agency)
  • Lori Taylor, Professor, Director of the Mosbacher Institute, Bush School of Government and Public Service, Texas A&M University