Skip Navigation
Third National Even Start Evaluation: Follow-Up Findings From the Experimental Design Study
NCEE 2005-3002
December 2004


This report presents analyses of follow-up data collected from families that participated in the Experimental Design Study portion of the third national Even Start evaluation. Many individuals have contributed to the evaluation, and we would like to acknowledge their contributions.

The national evaluation would not have been possible without the efforts of all local Even Start projects throughout the country. Each program year from 1997–1998 through 2000–2001, in addition to the challenging work of carrying out the Even Start model, projects collected and reported data describing the nature of their program, the intensity of the services they provided, the families they served, and the extent to which these families participated. Even Start state coordinators also provided support to projects and evaluation contractors that is necessary for the success of the evaluation. Special thanks are extended to the project directors and staff of the 18 Even Start projects that participated in the Experimental Design Study.

This study benefited from the advice and comments of an Expert Work Group. Members include: Eloise Appel, Appel Associates; W. Steven Barnett, Rutgers University; Diane Givens, Webster-Groves School District, Rock Hill, Missouri; Paul Johnson, State of Colorado; Jeanne Paratore, Boston University; Douglas Powell, Purdue University; Flora Rodriguez-Brown, University of Illinois-Chicago; Susan Smith, Drake University; Catherine Snow, Harvard University; Patty Ball Thomas, State of Florida; Jeff Tucker, National Center for Family Literacy; and Maris Vinovskis, University of Michigan.

Staff from the U.S. Department of Education provided guidance and support for the national evaluation. Special thanks are due to Tracy Rimdzius, project officer for the national evaluation, and Ricky Takai of the Institute of Education Sciences; Miriam Whitney, an Even Start program attorney; Laurette Crum, Theresa Buckley and Lonna Jones of the Budget Service; and Laura Lazo, Patricia McKee, and DonnaMarie Marlow of the Office of Elementary and Secondary Education.