Skip Navigation

Predoctoral Interdisciplinary Research Training Programs in the Education Sciences


- OR -


- OR -


- OR -

FY Awards

- OR -

Program to Increase Research Capacity in Educational Science (PIRT)

Year: 2009
Name of Institution:
Florida State University
Goal: Training
Principal Investigator:
Lonigan, Christopher
Award Amount: $4,998,353
Award Period: 5 years
Award Number: R305B090021


The Florida Center for Reading Research (FCRR) Predoctoral Interdisciplinary Research Training (PIRT) program at Florida State University was originally funded by IES in 2004. The program focuses on evaluation and measurement in education research, particularly reading research. Faculty are drawn from Education and Psychology, and have expertise and experience conducting high-quality evaluation research (e.g., large-scale randomized and cluster randomized studies), developing and validating measures (e.g., diagnostic, screening, and progress monitoring assessments for reading), and using advanced statistical methods (e.g., multi-level and hierarchical linear modeling, item response theory analyses, structural equation modeling), as well as significant knowledge and content expertise related to abnormal and normal developmental processes in reading, teacher training and professional development, and special needs populations. The PIRT program will collaborate with a newly founded institute at Florida State University, which has a mandate to develop and evaluate instructional activities to increase the math and science capabilities of Florida's K–12 students.

Project Website:

Related IES Projects: This university previously received an award to implement its Predoctoral Interdisciplinary Research Training Program (PIRT) in the Education Sciences. More information about this earlier award can be found at:

This university has also received an award to implement a Postdoctoral Interdisciplinary Training Program (PIRT) in Education Science at the Florida Center for Reading Research (FCRR). More information about this postdoctoral award can be found at: