Skip Navigation
A gavel National Board for Education Sciences Members | Priorities | Reports | Agendas | Minutes | Resolutions| Briefing Materials
National Board for Education Sciences
November 1, 2010 Meeting Agenda

Institute of Education Sciences Board Room
1st Floor
80 F Street, NW
Washington, DC

All sessions are open to the public.

For further information, please contact Mary Grace Lucier at (202) 219-2253 or

Monday, November 1, 2010
8:30 a.m. – 8:45 a.m. Call to Order, Approval of Agenda, Chair Remarks
Eric Hanushek, National Board for Education Sciences (NBES) Chair
8:45 a.m. – 9:45 a.m. Board Discussion with IES Director and Voting on the Priorities of the Institute of Education Sciences (IES)
John Easton, IES Director
9:45 a.m. – 10:00 a.m. Morning Break
10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. Privacy Technical Assistance Center (PTAC)
Marilyn Seastrom, Chief Statistician and Program Director, National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
Emily Anthony, Research Scientist and PTAC Program Officer, NCES
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Preliminary Discussion of Proposed Agenda for the Regional Educational Laboratories (REL)
John Easton
12:00 p.m. – 1:15 p.m. Lunch Break
1:15 p.m. – 2:45 p.m. Presentation and Discussion of State of the Art Approaches to Research Implementation
Lynn Okagaki, Commissioner of the National Center for Education Research (NCER)
Howard Bloom, Chief Social Scientist, MDRC
2:45 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Discussion of Recent IES Reports and Dissemination
Rebecca Maynard, Commissioner of the National Center for Education Evaluation and Regional Assistance (NCEE)
  • Study Snapshot: Evaluation of the Impact of the DC Opportunity Scholarship Program: Final Report
  • Overview and Samples of Quick Reviews of Studies on School Choice Programs and Policies
  • Intervention Report and Technical Appendices: Accelerated Middle Schools
  • Practice Guide Selection: Turning Around Chronically Low-Performing Schools
4:00 p.m. – 4:45 p.m. Closed Session
IES Commissioners and Staff:
Nomination and Election of Board Chair and Vice-Chair
4:45 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. New Officer Responses and Meeting Wrap-up
5:00 p.m. Adjournment