Skip Navigation

Home REL Pacific About REL Pacific Hui for All to Benefit from Hawaiian Education

Hui for All to Benefit from Hawaiian Education

Contributing to the national conversation around equity and the need to support each student to meet their full potential, this partnership seeks to promote ‘āina-based, place-based, and project-based learning by grounding instruction and assessment in shared ways of being, knowing, and doing to respond to the needs of Hawai‘i students and their families.

Through a networked improvement community (NIC), REL Pacific and partnership members from a cohort of charter schools across the state are exploring high-quality performance assessments and instructional practices to refine a model that other Hawai‘i schools may implement within their own local contexts, with an overarching goal of positively affecting school performance and accountability policy for Hawai‘i charter schools.

Core partnership organizations: REL Pacific, Kamehameha Schools, Hawai‘i Public Charter School Network, Ho‘okāko‘o Corporation, Hawaiian-focused charter schools (HFCS indicated below).

Cohort of charter schools in the action-research NIC project: Kamaile Academy [HFCS], Kanuikapono Public Charter School [HFCS], Ke Kula ‘o Samuel M. Kamakau [HFCS], Mālama Honua Charter School [HFCS], the School for Examining Essential Questions of Sustainability (SEEQS) Public Charter School.

Cohort of charter schools in performance assessment development project: Connections Public Charter School, Hawai‘i Academy of Arts and Science, Kihei Charter School, and Waimea Middle Public Conversion School.

REL Pacific team: McREL International, National Center for the Improvement of Educational Assessment, Pacific American Foundation, Seneca Consulting.

The partnership is organized within a larger critical action-research project coordinated by Kamehameha Schools with additional support from industry partners including Envision Learning Partners and the Stanford Center for Assessment, Learning, and Equity (SCALE).

This training and coaching project is working with a cohort of Hawai‘i charter school leaders and educators to establish and conduct a networked improvement community (NIC) exploring best practices for place-based, project-based, and ‘aina-based instruction and assessment. With REL Pacific facilitation support and resources informed by research, the cohort is establishing their NIC processes, components, goals, monitoring measures, and identifying common design elements and implementation practices that support high-quality place-based, project-based, and culturally sustaining learning.
This project supports capacity building for Hawai‘i charter school administrators and teachers as they design performance assessments that measure standards-aligned student learning outcomes in place-based and project-based tasks. The project is centered on the use of high-quality, curriculum-embedded common performance assessments because of the potential to positively influence teaching and learning.

No projects at this time.

Assessment Systems in Indigenous Contexts
Time: 1:00–2:30pm HST | 4:00–5:30pm PT | 5:00–6:30pm MT | 6:00–7:30pm CT | 7:00–8:30pm ET Description: Research shows that Indigenous students benefit from culturally responsive and culturally sustaining education, but assessment is not always at the...

Developing a "Theory of Practice Improvement" to Implement Networked Improvement Communities
Let’s explore the components of building a strong and sustainable NIC, including the important step of establishing a theory of practice improvement—a statement that identifies the problem the NIC will address, the goals of the work, and hypotheses about...

Measuring What Matters: Analytics to Support Networked Improvement Communities and Place-Based Education
Date: December 2, 2022 Time: 10 a.m. Hawaii Time, 1 p.m. Mountain, 3 p.m. Eastern Description: Join REL Pacific for this webinar to learn more about the work of the Hui (Partnership) for All to Benefit from Hawaiian Education, a partnership of charter...

REL Pacific Brochure
REL Pacific is one of 10 Regional Educational Laboratories (RELs) funded by the Institute of Education Sciences at the U.S. Department of Education. REL Pacific partners with educators and policymakers in American Samoa, the Federated States of Micronesia...

Using Networked Improvement Communities to Address Problems of Practice
Networked improvement communities, or NICs, are scientific learning communities in which researchers, practitioners, and other interested partners come together to address a common problem of practice through a focused, iterative approach.

REL Pacific Logic Model (509 KB)

REL Pacific Logic Model