Skip Navigation
archived information

Governing Board

REL West is guided by a strong and committed Governing Board of over 50 members, including each of the four chief state school officers or a designated representative. Other representatives are appointed by state boards of education and by higher education institutions. The Board includes extensive research expertise and members representing rural and urban settings and American Indian communities as well as experts on issues concerning students with disabilities and English learners. The Board is actively involved in assessing the region’s educational needs, trends, and conditions to ensure REL West addresses priorities in its region. The Board also helps identify potential partners, collaborators, and dissemination opportunities. Each year, the Board is presented with the research, training, coaching, and technical support under consideration by REL West and it approves the body of work before it is proposed to IES.

Tacy C. Ashby
Senior Vice President,
Strategic Educational Alliances,
Grand Canyon University
Phoenix, AZ
Monica Barajas
Vernon School District
Vernon, AZ
Mary C. Barlow
Kern County Superintendent of Schools
Bakersfield, CA
Heather Batchelor
Assistant Professor and Program Director, Westminster College
Salt Lake City, UT
Cecil Brim
President, Brim-Donahoe West
Los Angeles, CA
Leonard D. Burton
Senior Fellow, Center for The Study of Social Policy
Washington, District of Columbia
Kenneth M. Coll
Professor, Counseling and Educational Psychology, University of Nevada, Reno
Reno, NV
Frances Contreras
Associate Vice Chancellor, Faculty Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion, University of California, San Diego
San Diego, CA
Sydnee Dickson
State Superintendent of Public Instruction, Utah State Board of Education
Salt Lake City, UT
Rena Dorph
(Board Chair)
Director, The Lawrence Hall of Science, University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA
Richard P. Durán
Professor, Gevirtz Graduate School of Education, University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Jhone Ebert
Superintendent of Public Instruction, Nevada Department of Education
Carson City, NV
Francisco Escobedo
Chula Vista Elementary School District
Chula Vista, CA
Beth Foley
Dean, Emma Eccles Jones College of Education and Human Services, Utah State University
Logan, UT
Enikia Ford Morthel
Deputy Superintendent of Instruction, San Francisco Unified School District
San Francisco, CA
María E. Fránquiz
Professor of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education, The University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX
Ruth Glass
Head of School (Retired), Lake Tahoe School
Incline Village, NV
Stephanie Gregson
Chief Deputy Superintendent of Public Instruction, California Department of Education
Sacramento, CA
Marquita Grenot-Scheyer
Assistant Vice Chancellor, The California State University, Office of the Chancellor
Long Beach, CA
Terry Hansen
Principal, Hickey and Associates
Alexandria, VA
Glen H Harvey
Chief Executive Officer, WestEd
San Francisco, CA
Guilbert C. Hentschke
Stoops Dean and Cooper Chair Emeritus, Rossier School of Education, University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA
Kathy Hoffman
State Superintendent of Public Instruction, Arizona Department of Education
Tonia Holmes-Sutton
Interim State Director, Teach Plus Nevada
Las Vegas, NV
Paul D. Houston
President, Center for Empowered Leadership
Tucson, AZ
Gail Hudson
Grade 5 Teacher, Title I Coordinator, John R. Hummel Elementary
Las Vegas, NV
Beverly J. Hurley
Director of Academic Alliances (Retired), Grand Canyon University
Phoenix, AZ
Adela Madrigal Jones
Sanger Unified School District
Sanger, CA
Robbie Koerperich
Superintendent, Holbrook Unified School District #3
Holbrook, AZ
Harold Levine
Founding Dean and Professor Emeritus, School of Education University of California, Davis
Davis, CA
Anand Marri
Dean, Teachers College
Muncie, IN
Robert S. McCord
Emeritus Associate Professor, Department of Educational Leadership, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Bend, OR
Jacob Moore
Associate Vice President, Tribal Relations, Arizona State University, Office of Government & Community Engagement
Tempe, AZ
Jonathan P. Moore
Deputy Superintendent of Student Achievement, Nevada Department of Education
Carson City, NV
Luke Narducci
President, Arizona State Board of Education
Phoenix, AZ
Dale A. Norton
Superintendent of Schools (Retired), Nye County School District
Pahrump, NV
Ann O'Brien
Executive Board Secretary, Arizona School Board Association
Phoenix, AZ
Felicia Ortiz
Member, Nevada State Board of Education
Las Vegas, NV
Stefanie Phillips
CEO, Chamberlin Family Foundation
Richmond, CA
Dennis Potthoff
School of Education
Henderson, NV
Annette Reichman
Superintendent, Arizona State Schools for the Deaf and Blind (ASDB)
Tucson, AZ
Andrea Rorrer
Associate Dean, College of Education, University of Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Terry Shoemaker
Executive Director, Utah School Superintendents Association
Associate Executive Director, Utah School Boards Association
Sandy, UT
William Speer
Director, Mathematics Learning Center, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Las Vegas, NV
Bernice Stafford
Strategic Consultant, Professional Development, Northwest Evaluation Association
Carlsbad, CA
Ed Sullivan
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Research and Resources, Office of the Chancellor, California State University
Long Beach, CA
William A. Thorne, Jr.
Retired Judge, Utah Court of Appeals
Salt Lake City, UT
Judy D. White
Riverside County Superintendent of Schools, Riverside County Office of Education
Riverside, CA
Kimberly A. White-Smith
Dean, University of La Verne, LaFetra College of Education
La Verne, CA
Doug Wilson
Superintendent (Retired), Marana Unified School District
Marana, AZ
Kate Wright
Associate Superintendent, High Academic Standards for Students, Arizona Department of Education
Phoenix, AZ
Brian Zeiszler
Department Chair,
Teacher Education Program
Elko, NV