Skip Navigation

Our Team

REL West has dedicated program staff comprised of researchers, coaches, technical support providers, communicators, and other professionals representing the four West Region States. Together, we offer a wide range of expertise on education topics and data-driven decisionmaking. Learn more about our team below.

Management

Nikola	Filby
Nikola Filby
Program Director
415.615.3124
nfilby@wested.org
John	Rice
John Rice
Deputy Director
562.799.5435
jrice@wested.org
Neal	Finkelstein
Neal Finkelstein
Executive Advisor
415.615.3171
nfinkel@wested.org

Staff

Kim	Austin
Kim Austin
Senior Program Associate
510.652.2426
kaustin@wested.org
Fredrika	Baer
Fredrika Baer
Graphic Designer
415.615.3132
fbaer@wested.org
Vanessa	Barrat
Vanessa Barrat
Senior Research Associate
415.615.3315
vbarrat@wested.org
BethAnn	Berliner
BethAnn Berliner
Senior Research Associate
510.302.4209
bberlin@wested.org
Laura	Buckner
Laura Buckner
Program Associate
415.615.3374
lbuckne@wested.org
Elizabeth	Burr
Elizabeth Burr
Senior Research Associate
415.615.3309
eburr@wested.org
Rebeca	Cerna
Rebeca Cerna
Senior Research Associate
562.799.5159
rcerna@wested.org
Min	Chen-Gaddini
Min Chen-Gaddini
Research Associate
415.615.3309
mchen2@wested.org
Rosemary	De La Torre
Rosemary De La Torre
Program Assistant I
415.615.3123
rdelato@WestEd.org
Kenwyn	Derby
Kenwyn Derby
Senior Research Associate
415.615.3279
kderby@wested.org
Jonathan	Dolle
Jonathan Dolle
Senior Research Associate
415.615.3189
jdolle@wested.org
Lenay	Dunn
Lenay Dunn
Senior Research Associate
602.322.7006
ldunn@wested.org
Tony	Fong
Tony Fong
Senior Policy Associate
415.615.3289
tfong@wested.org
Sylvie	Hale
Sylvie Hale
Senior Project Director
415.615.3188
shale@wested.org
Ricky	Herzog
Ricky Herzog
Writer/Editor
415.615.3447
rherzog@wested.org
Ryanne	Holbrook
Ryanne Holbrook
Public Outreach Coordinator
415.615.3165
rholbro@wested.org
Kevin (Chun-Wei)	Huang
Kevin (Chun-Wei) Huang
Senior Research Analyst
415.615.3162
chuang@wested.org
Min	Huang
Min Huang
Research Associate
415.615.3241
mhuang2@wested.org
Karina	Jaquet
Karina Jaquet
Research Associate
510.302.4253
kjaquet@wested.org
Paul	Koehler
Paul Koehler
Director, Policy Center
602.322.7004
pkoehle@wested.org
Lisa	Le Fevre
Lisa Le Fevre
Senior Program Associate
415.615.3137
llefevr@wested.org
Reino	Makkonen
Reino Makkonen
Senior Policy Associate
415.615.3356
rmakkon@wested.org
Marie	Mancuso
Marie Mancuso
Associate Director, West Comprehensive Center
602.322.7003
mmancus@wested.org
Ellen Mandinach
Senior Research Scientist
202.471.2481
emandin@wested.org
Maria	Martinez
Maria Martinez
Administrative Assistant
415.615.3372
mmartin6@wested.org
Mary	Peterson
Mary Peterson
Senior Program Associate
775.240.2707
mpeters@wested.org
Mary	Rauner
Mary Rauner
Director of Strategic Planning and Operations
415.615.3495
mrauner@wested.org
Venisa Sin
Application Developer
Jason	Snipes
Jason Snipes
Director of Alliance Research
415.615.3321
jsnipes@wested.org
Sola	Takahashi
Sola Takahashi
Senior Research Associate
415.615.3129
stakaha@wested.org
Thomas	Torre Gibney
Thomas Torre Gibney
Research Associate
415.615.3419
ttorreg@wested.org
Lori	Van Houten
Lori Van Houten
Director of Analytic Support
650.670.7962
lvanhou@wested.org
Melissa Eiler	White
Melissa Eiler White
Senior Research Associate
805.845.3613
mwhite@wested.org
Niufeng Zhu
Research Associate
415.615.3153
nzhu@wested.org
Joy	Zimmerman
Joy Zimmerman
Co-Director of Communications, WestEd
415.615.3104
jzimmer@wested.org